Adventure through Andalucia

When I first moved to Barcelona… I just didn’t feel like this was the right place… It was missing that feeling you get when you’re in the right place… It was hard to get around (not because there aren’t about a million ways to travel through the city) but because I just didn’t understand the system, the people… the culture..

Luckily, I met an amazing friend… she’s my own and unique Chinese friend, Lucia…2016-08-23 01.49.43.jpg the person that from the first day grabbed my hand and decided to walk with me, to not leave me alone… She was the first person in this city that for no real reason, decided to just help me, she was my rock… Showed me the city, places to eat… how to use the metro, the bus… Well, everything… I felt like I was so little and this city was so big that it was going to eat me alive…

She had planned to travel Andalucia for a few days… And asked me to go with her… At first, I was a little worried… But then… I had nothing to lose right? I didn’t like the city… So why not go and see a different place…

We went to Valencia… Ahh Valencia… As soon as we arrived to the bus station… I just had that feeling of belonging… that feeling of peace… It was just amazing, the people, the food, the architecture… But after 2 and 1/2 days, it was time to get on the road again… And after a few long hours in a bus, we were in Granada…

Granada is a place where everything is fancy..dsc_0970. or at least the places we visited, so much history remains there, on its buildings, on its streets, so many different civilizations that conquered it… And you can see it everywhere, the buildings… the little small roads, where you wouldn’t dare to think that even one car can drive… and the sidewalks… that are almost non existent in some places… the tiles on the street! Yes! Real tiles… Just amazing… And you just can’t go to Granada and not go see La Alhambra… that would be a crime against humanity! And this is when the story begins…

As we’re standing in line to get to enter one of the palaces in La Alhambra… This guy… asks.. What time does your ticket say that you can go in? And we look at the time and answer… He was just checking to make sure we were able to go in… and not just stand in line for no reason… Then next thing I hear is… I have the same tattoo! And I’m like really? So, we start talking about it… and he says his husband also has the same one… We get introduced to each other and his cousin, that happened to be on vacation here, and he’s from Utah! How cool is that? We take pictures and talk for a little while since we’re all waiting to get in… 2016-08-16-18-33-28

We enter the palace… and we kept running into each other… Keep making jokes… And take some goofy pictures… When we’re all done walking around, we meet them again… And as we’re resting a little because we’ve been walking around for about 8 hours! We start talking about ourselves a little more… Their names are, Omar “La Maravillosa”, Jose and Mohamed… Omar and I have a lot in common… as we laugh at anything and everything… Jose is a little more quiet, and Mohamed is actually pretty funny…

2016-08-16-18-57-22As we exit the park… they offer to give us a ride to our hostel since they’re driving, we get to the hotel… while charging phones… Omar says, we’re going to Malaga tonight (we were going to Malaga the very next day) and he offers that we go with them that same night, stay at their little apartment they had rented and then we would part our own ways the next day… So off we go to Malaga, we had a great road trip there…

Next day, we end up on the beach all day in Marbella… Later that night, we had to figure out our hotel accommodations, and realize we’re about 1 hour and a half away from this place, and more than likely we won’t make it on time before it closes…
Omar and Jose… the craziest but most people I’ve met so far in Spain just tell us not to worry, to stay there with them for a few more days, that we shouldn’t worry about it…
The concept of just helping someone for no reason is not something I’m used to… And because we’re comfortable with them and we’re too far away that we won’t make it, we stay…2016-08-18-16-12-46

Omar “La Maravillosa” and her husband, Jose were so amazing… they had no reason to do anything for us, yet, they did, they showed us the city a little bit, took us to the beach, made breakfast for us… And so much more…. They opened my eyes to see the world differently, to learn that sometimes it’s OK to let someone help you, and they also made me realize that there are angels on earth… Omar and Jose were my angels on earth that came to teach me so much about this beautiful country, and its culture, I am just so blessed and happy to have met them both… And Mohamed, the cousin, he came in to my life to show me many things… he was so crazy! But so sweet and understanding, it was amazing to have met you as well…

Thank you all, Lucia, Omar, Jose and Mohamed for making my life that much better and for showing me so many different sides of the same picture, I have learned so much from all of you and have to much more to learn from all of you… I just feel blessed to have met you and I want to thank you all for your patience and for showing me things I was previously oblivious to….

Leave a Reply

